Meet the Student Associate Organization 2022-’23

El Camino College Associated Student Organization 2022-2023 cabinet members were introduced and made a presentation at a meeting of the Board of Trustees on Wednesday, September 6 in the Administration Building.

The president of the new Associated Student Organization (ASO), Jana Abulaban, a two-year-old psychology student who immigrated from Palestine, kicked off the board meeting by introducing herself and to the rest of the “ASO family”.

The 2022-23 ASO officers include 10 executive cabinet members, 11 senators, six commissioners and three advisers

Present at the meeting with Abulaban were ASO Vice President Luisa Paredes, Student Administrator Sidney Lee, Director of External Affairs Allen Park, and ASO Counselor and Director of Student Development for El Camino College, Greg Toya.

Abulaban presented a formal report to the Board of Trustees outlining special projects and responsibilities the Student Associate organization planned to prioritize during the current fall semester.

High on the ASO’s list of priorities is the Student Voter project, co-chaired by Councilor Toya and ASO member Park.

The intent of the project is to increase student participation in national, state, and local elections.

“The purpose of this committee is to increase student voter registration and participation,” Abulaban said. “There is also a ‘ballot’ contest between different colleges and universities in California to see which campus can attract the most registered students to vote.”

Beyond the social responsibility of increasing student participation, Abulaban said the ASO wanted to win this year because El Camino came second the last time the contest was held, only losing to the Santa Monica College.

As the new President of the Association of Student Associates finished her report, Board Member Nilo Michelin thanked her and the ASO for their continued efforts.

“We have a long tradition of working with ASO, we look forward to working with you and the new team,” said Michelin.

List of Associated Student Organizations 2022-2023:

Executive Cabinet

President: Jana Abulaban

Vice-president: Luisa Paredes

Student Administrator: Sidney Lee

Financial Director: Uzair Pasta

Director of Student Services: Kika Akpenyi

Director of Human Resources: Alondra Alvarado

Director of External Affairs: Allen Park

Director of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion: Matt Schulz

Director of Academic Affairs: Hameeda Uloomi

Director of Public Relations: N/A


Senator for Behavioral and Social Sciences: Jessica Venegas

Senator for Behavioral and Social Sciences: Linus Yeh

Business Senator: Sheriff Abdrahman

Senator for Health, Science and Sports: Audrey Bennet

Senator for Health, Science and Sports: Oscar Hernandez

Humanities Senator: Patrick Hahn

Humanities Senator: Heman Urban

Senator for Mathematical Sciences: Rebecca Gloyer

Senator of Mathematical Sciences: Ana Florentino

Senator for Natural Sciences: Bella Ismail

Senator for Natural Sciences: J Arden Jackson


Student Services Commissioner: Monique Love

Commissioner of Student Services: Sophia Cruz

Finance Commissioner: Kennedy Hayashi

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Commissioner: Charletta Royster-McNeish

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Commissioner: Katrina Tiqui

External Affairs Commissioner: Naomi Garcia

Aubrey L. Morgan