Yoon is carrying out an organizational overhaul of his administration: The DONG-A ILBO

South Korean President Yoon Suk-yeol on Sunday appointed Vice President Lee Kwan-sup of the Korea International Trade Association as Senior Presidential Secretary for Policy and Planning to coordinate overall government policies and develop to help execute governance projects. Kim Eun-hye, a former lawmaker and spokesperson for her transition team, is expected to join as senior secretary for press affairs. The 2nd phase presidential office moved to the system of two office heads and six principal secretaries from two office heads and five principal secretaries.

Presidential chief of staff Kim Dae-ki released a plan for reorganization and staff reshuffling at a presidential office briefing room in Yongsan, central Seoul, on Sunday. Four days after President Yoon suggested an organizational overhaul at a press conference to celebrate his 100th day in office, the presidential secretaries for policy and press affairs have been newly appointed as part of such an overhaul. organizational.

Lee has accumulated long years of experience in the public sector as First Deputy Minister of Commerce, Industry and Energy and Chairman of Korea Hydro & Nuclear Power. Immediately after the public announcement of his appointment, Lee told the press that he would do his best to contribute to the administration’s efforts to safeguard the originally promised values ​​of fairness and common sense and to bind citizens together. .

Kim was brought back by President Yoon after being in charge of press affairs during presidential election campaigns and worked as spokesperson for President-elect Yoon in his transition team. “I will serve as a solid bridge to effectively promote Chairman Yoon’s philosophy and principles of governance,” Kim said. The president’s current principal secretary for press affairs, Choi Young-bum, will work for President Yoon as a special adviser for foreign cooperation. Shin In-ho, second deputy director of the National Security Bureau, who resigned due to health issues, will be replaced by Lim Jong-deuk, former chief of staff of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

With the new members announced on Sunday, the presidential office revamped the organizational framework from now on. “This staff announcement has nothing to do with any disciplinary action against any of the staff,” Presidential Chief of Staff Kim said. “The government is continuing the path towards increased productivity and efficiency in governance.”

Kwan-Seok Jang [email protected]

Aubrey L. Morgan